Murroe Community Council

by in Archives

Nominations Sought to the Community Council - click here for details!

What we do

The Community Council aims to develop the Social and Cultural life of Murroe. It does this through its own activities and through co-operation with its partner organisations. The Community Council is a Voluntary organisation, open to all people living in the area. The Council consists of 31 people who meet once a month to discuss and act on issues affecting the village. The Community Council also acts as one of the recognised groups in dealings with other bodies such as Limerick County Council. Members of the Community Council are encouraged to bring items of concern from the community they represent, to the monthly meetings for discussion. Through this web site we hope to inform and involve local people in the life of our community, in all its aspects, including the many newcomers who have made a home in Murroe in recent years.

Some of our activities

The Community Council is working hard to secure a playground for the village. A grant application has been submitted to Limerick County Council, and a site has been identified. The playground will be built in memory of Jim Cummins who died during last year. Jim did a lot of preparatory work for the playground when the Village Design Statement was being drawn up. Funds are also being raised through the Mary from Murroe Festival.

Village Design Statement (VDS)
The Village Design Statement was finally presented to the community in October 2008. In general, it was well received and is a useful document to have even if it arrived late in the day. Its implementation is dependent on funding being made available by the Council.

Roads and Safety
A central issue highlighted in the VDS is the control of traffic in and around Murroe. The Community Council, represented by Fr Tom Ryan, is meeting with engineers from Limerick County Council to improve the quality of the roads and footpaths.

List of Council Members by area
Paddy & Ann Hourigan
Maureen O’Connell
Ros Fearna/The Meadows/Garanbawn/Liscreagh
Aisling O’Brien
Aimee Byrnes
Una Kett
Grainne Walshe
Cois naCoille/Gilmartin Park
Martin Holmes
Bridie Ryan
Kathleen McKenna
Nuala Ryan
Fr. Simon Sleeman
Bridget Hayes
Ashroe/Clare Glens
Kathleen Gunning
Tom O’Brien
Dan Dineen
Margaret Ryan
John Buckley
Murroe Village/Murroe Wood
Fr. Tom Ryan
Carmel Hogg
Rhona Sheridan
Stephen Ryan
Richard & Nora Bourke.
John Egan.
Noel Foley.
Myles McNamara
Michelle Healy
Tom & Mary Seaver

President: Paddy Hourigan
Chairperson: Fr.Simon Sleeman
Vice Chairperson: Kathleen Gunning
Secretary: Michelle Healy
Assistant Secretary: Bridget Hayes
Treasurer: Aimee Byrnes / Nora Bourke
PRO: Aisling O’Brien

Contact the Council

Telephone: 061 386441

Leave a Comment